Keeping It Fresh: Atlanta’s New Hot Boy

I don’t know why it took me this long to recognize him as an artist worth listening to; I’ve heard multiple songs by other artists in which he’s featured, but for some reason, Bankroll Fresh never jumped out at me. I didn’t help that I’d never heard of him before and couldn’t tell you what he looked like, but all that matters now is that I’ve caught on (a year late).

*The moment I “caught on” was actually pretty random; while on Instagram, I was scrolling through the Explore Posts feed and found a video of Odell Beckham Jr., wide receiver for the New York Giants, dancing during warm ups before a game, and the song he was dancing to, as I found out, was Walked In, a song Fresh recently released. The rapper you hear in the video isn’t even Bankroll, but it lured me to find the name of the track (luckily other people were asking about the song in the comments), which then lead me to Bankroll Fresh.*

I doubt you’ve ever heard of him, and you really, really need to rectify that; Bankroll Fresh makes some hard, energetic, and fun music, which is a great recipe for a rapper in Atlanta today. Hold on, I think I’m getting ahead of myself here— like Fresh loves to do, let’s spin this shit back.

Bankroll Fresh hails from Atlanta (specifically Zone 3), and lived a life similar to other trappers that we know and love, which definitely wasn’t easy. Young Fresh (his first name as a rapper) knew that music was his way out, and quietly set a foundation for himself, meeting major players in Atlanta hip hop and using his connections to make music with a variety of heavy-hitting ATL rappers and producers. Does he know Gucci? Bruh. Has he ever gotten a Zaytoven beat? That’s basically his brother.

Atlanta is the current hotbed of hip hop, which seems to have a “dope new artist” come up every month, but don’t discount Bankroll as one of those artists who have a hit song and then fizzle out; he’s already made that hit song, and then another, and then another, along with releasing a couple strong projects. His first legit tape was Life Of A Hot Boy (released August 2014), and if you haven’t downloaded it already, I highly suggest you do; 25 tracks long, it’s full of bangers and overall it’s a great debut with high replay value. If you’re given the aux cord this week, play this tape and you’ll never have to deal with your stupid friend’s country bullshit again.

Off Life Of A Hot Boy, tracks Hot Boy, Show Em How To Do It, Haters, and Come Wit It were immediately added to the playlist I dedicate to bangers that can only be described with fire emojis.

Eight months after his first project dropped, Bankroll Fresh was back at it again, giving us all Life Of A Hot Boy 2. Twenty tracks long, it’s clear the boy’s been putting in work; putting out another big project in less than a year says a lot about how not only is he a determined, driven artist, but he’s proven over the course of 45 tracks that he can spit, cook up great hooks, and his flows are very easy on the ears. Bankroll is an artist your favorite artist needs to look out for, in terms of salvaging their careers.

LOAHB2 might not be as hard as it’s predecessor, but what it lacks in bangery it makes up for it with consistency; each track has it’s own unique energy, and you can tell that Fresh’s lyricism and confidence have improved, which is saying something. Walked In, the track that finally perked my ears towards Fresh, is on the project, and while it may arguably be the best song on the tape, there’s plenty more for you to enjoy.

Barely more than a year after his breakout debut, Fresh released his first EP, Money To Die 4. Although it’s only ten songs and four of them are from his previous projects (Hot Boy, Come Wit It, Show Em How To Do It, Bet It), it was still enough to tide fans over until this past November, when his self-titled tape Bankroll Fresh dropped.

Bankroll Fresh is a free project, and we should thank Fresh for that; it’s an obvious progression and we should have to pay to hear it (the tape is on iTunes for $9.99, but I’m not sure if you’ll cop it when you can just download it legally for free). Bankroll gave us another tape we can spend many hours listening to, and all 18 tracks are solid; there isn’t a definitive stinker in the lot.

“Ohhh my gawwd…” Those are the first words you hear on the project, and they should serve as a warning for the upcoming experience; things are about to get on a true hot boy level. Danny Devito (incorrectly spelled, btw) is the first track, and it’s a short one, but I wouldn’t take it as a jab to the actor, as the last line in the song goes, “You n***** here acting like Danny DeVito”; he’s actually referring to all the lames standing in his way.

After that quick introduction to the project we have Riggs, where Fresh uses his raspy voice, trapper vocabulary, and braggadocio to show you what he’s been up to since his last project dropped, but don’t think he’s given up on the hot boy lifestyle; Fresh goes hard in real life, and he translates that to the studio. I was going to list my favorite songs off this tape, but the list just became half of the mixtape, so I recommend listening to Bankroll’s great effort here in it’s entirety.

I didn’t know who Bankroll Fresh was until a couple months ago. I’d heard a few verses he has with a variety of Atlanta rappers, but I never really payed much attention. I remember when his debut came out on Datpiff, but I ignored it. I wasn’t disinterested, but I wasn’t really interested; I had other artists I listened to intently (Migos and Future take up a lot of my time), and didn’t have a need to expand my iTunes library. It was basically a random experience that finally put me on to Bankroll Fresh; I was watching an Instagram video of an NFL star dancing, and while I was admiring OBJ’s experimental moves, the song he was getting down to caught my ear.

While I can’t say that I knew Bankroll was fire since the moment Hot Boy came out, I can say that he is fire, he is worth your time, and it’s better late than never, right?

Leave a Reply

